Syndicat d'initiative de Surat Thani

KOHSamui KrabiNakhonSI Thammarat NarathiwatPattaniPhangNga de Chumphon
PhattalungPhuketRanongSatunSongkhlaSurat ThaniTrangYala

INTRODUCTION
Le nom signifie littéralement la « ville des bonnes gens » et est l'ancien siège de l'empire de Sivichaya. C'est la plus grande et la plus importante province des sud, localisée 644 kms. de Bangkok. Il occupe une aire de 12.891.5 kilomètres carrés encadrant à Chumphon et le Golfe de la Thaïlande au nord, Nakhon SI Thammarat et Krabi aux sud, Phangnga et Ranong à l'ouest et le Golfe de la Thaïlande et Nakhon SI Thammarat à l'est.

Surat Thani a par le passé fait partie, et a pu avoir été le centre du bouddhiste de Mahayana, l'empire de Srivijaya qui, trempé dans la légende et le mystère, a dominé la péninsule malaise et beaucoup de Java il y a environ 1.500 ans. Srivijaya mieux a été décrit par le moine chinois ambulant I Ching après qu'un pélerinage qu'il a fait en l'Inde pendant le 600s en retard. Les découvertes archéologiques chez Chaiya indiquent de l'ancien la splendeur empire.

Les caractéristiques géographiques de Surat Thani sont plateau élevé et montagnes couverts de woodforest valable aux bassins occidentaux et bas dans le secteur central et oriental de bord de la mer. Il y a un nombre énorme d'îles le long de la côte et deux fleuves importants : le fleuve de Tapi et fleuve de Phum Duang. Il est administrativement divisé en 18 Amphoes et 1 Roi Amphoe c.-à-d., Amphoe Muang, Na San, l'interdiction Ta Khun, Chaiya, Don Sak, Kanchanadit, Khian SA, Khiri Ratthanikhom, KOH Phangna, KOH Samui, Phanom, Phrasaeng, Phunphin, Tha Chana, Tha Chang, Wiang SA, Na Doem d'interdiction, Chai Buri et Roi Amphoe Wiphawadi d'interdiction.


Les choses à voir et font des vues et des expériences

Généralités

Phra Boromathat Chaiya
Une pagoda antique, située dans Wat Phra Boromathat Chaiya, Amphoe Chaiya, logeant des reliques de seigneur Bouddha. La structure est censée pour être construite au cours de la période de Sivichaya sur il y a 1.200 ans.

Musée National de Chaiya
Situé à Wat Phra Boromathat Chaiya, Tambon Wiang, Amphoe Chaiya. C'est un musée historique et archéologique. Le premier bâtiment met dessus la pierre d'exposition et les sculptures en bronze découvertes dans la ville antique de Chaiya, par exemple, les sculptures de Dieu Vishnu et Bohdisattva Avalokitesvara. Le deuxième bâtiment montre des objets façonnés de bas protohistoric aux périodes historiques de Dvaravati, Srivijaya, Lop Buri, Sukhothai à Ayutthaya. Des objets d'art et plusieurs autres métiers sont également montrés ici. Le Musée National de Chaiya est journal ouvert entre 09.00-16.00 heures. excepté lundi et mardi. L'admission est 10 le baht chacun.

Suan Mokkha Phalaram
Ceci est autrement connu comme Wat que Nam Lai (monastère de l'eau d'écoulement), une communauté monastique située dans un beau et paisible parc normal où les bouddhistes vont chercher la pratique en matière de méditation. Il y a plusieurs les pavillons de enseignement quel beaucoup de peintures et de poésies illustrant des enseignements moraux connus dans thaï en tant que « Chambres de divertissement pour l'âme ».

Station d'éducation de faune et de nature de Khao Thaphet
A localisé environ 6 kms. de la ville le long de Surat - route de Nasan, du numéro 4009 de route et des couvertures 1.162 acres. Les maisons de station beaucoup d'animaux sauvages mis en cage. Le sommet, environ 210 mètres au-dessus de niveau de la mer, vues panoramiques d'offres de municipalité de Don d'interdiction, le fleuve et l'interdiction Don de Tapi aboient. Sur Khao Thaphet est également situé le stupa appelé Phra que SI Surat ou localement connu comme Phra ce Khao Thaphet qui loge des reliques de Bouddha a donné par le Gouvernement Indien il y a environ 30 ans.

Fermes d'huître
Sont trouvés autour des régions d'estuaire des fleuves de lanière de Kradae et de Tha, dans Amphoe Kanchanadit. L'huître multipliée là sont sensiblement plus grande que ceux trouvées ailleurs. Pour visiter les fermes est en louant des bateaux de bord du quai de lanière de Tha pendant environ 30 minutes.

Interdiction Phumriang de MOO
Environ 6 kilomètres à l'est de Chaiya, est des arts et les métiers centrent bien connu pour son tissu et jute en soie de brocard d'or et d'argent headwear.

Écoles de singe
Les écoles où des singes sont formés pour sélectionner des noix de coco, là sont 2 endroits : un est situé dans Amphoe Kanchanadit, environ 13 kms. de Surat Thani le long du numéro des 401 et différent de route est à l'interdiction Khlong Sai, Amphoe Tha Chang, environ 35 kms. le long du numéro 41 de route. Des visiteurs sont conseillés de vérifier avec les agents de voyage locaux les détails complets.

Parcs nationaux

Parc national de Khao Sok
Il est situé sur km.109 de secteur de banlieue noire de Surat sur le numéro 401 de route. Un parc national forêt-couvert verdoyant de colline, avec une aire d'environ 161.000 acres. Beaucoup de genres de faune rare doivent toujours être trouvés. Avec une atmosphère de paix et de restfulness, on peut trek le long des traînées faites à l'aventure. Logement en parc peut être disponible par la section de réservation, le service de sylviculture, tél. (662) 579-0529, 579-4842. En outre, près du secteur du parc il y a privé-courent des pavillons disponibles pour le touriste.

Parc national de Yens de ROM de Tai
Couvre le domaine du rai 133.125 de la réservation de forêt de Khlong Nam Thao dans Na San d'interdiction d'Amphoe et Wiang SA d'Amphoe. Une montagne dans le parc connu sous le nom de Khao Chong Chang par le passé était la base du parti communiste de la Thaïlande. Il y a plusieurs taches de touristes scéniques telles que Nam Tok Dat fa, Nam Tok Muang Thuat en Na San d'interdiction d'Amphoe et Nam Tok que Thip dans Wiang SA d'Amphoe. Des visiteurs souhaitant rester durant la nuit ici sont priés d'apporter le long leurs accessoires campants. Pour plus détails veuillez entrent en contact avec la Division de parcs nationaux, le service royal de sylviculture, tél. (de 662) 579-4842, 579-0529.

NaI d'interdiction de Nam Tok Wiphawadi ou de Nam Tok
Cependant du même nom que celui dans le sanctuaire de faune de Khlong Yan, celui-ci est situé dans Amphoe Don Sak sur le bord de la route de la route 401 entre le kilomètre. 60-61, à environ 38 kilomètres de ville. Bien qu'une petite chute d'eau, il soit toujours serrée en vacances.

Barrage de LAN de Ratchprapha ou de Chieo
Il est situé sur le kilomètre. 52-53 numéro 401 de route et juste de tour pour encore 12 kms. Le paysage autour du secteur de barrage est très beau. Logement est fourni par l'électricité produisant de l'autorité de la Thaïlande, tél. (662) 436-3179 ou (6677) 311-364, 311-522.

Sanctuaire de faune de Khlong Yan
Situé dans le Roi Amphoe Wiphawadi, 45 kilomètres le long de la route 41 avec un virage à gauche de 26 kilomètres au Roi Amphoe Wiphawadi. Plus loin environ 10 kilomètres, puis tourner à droite encore 8 kilomètres, un obtiendra au sanctuaire. L'attraction principale ici est la belle chute d'eau « Nam Tok Wiphawadi ». Le logement est disponible. La réservation devrait être faite au chef du sanctuaire de faune de Khlong Ya à MOO 8, Tambon Takut Tai, le Roi Amphoe Wiphawadi, Surat Thani 84180.

Îles

KOH Samui
C'est attraction touristique principale de Surat Thani. L'île a de nombreux beaux plages et compartiments. C'est presque littéralement une île des noix de coco et des collines couvertes de forêts, et est rapide vienne une ressource de stature internationale. Les meilleures plages de Samui rayent les côtes nordiques et orientales, être le plus populaire Chaweng et Lamai où, généralement, le logement le plus attrayant est trouvé.
Sans compter que des plages, d'autres attractions d'île incluent les chutes d'eau de Lat et de Na Muang de Hin les formations de roche phalliques à l'extrémité méridionale du compartiment de Lamai ; une image posée massive de Bouddha d'île et de Na Thon, le règlement principal de ventilateur du bord de mer de l'île où des magasins, les restaurants, les agences d'excursion et les hôtels sont localisés.

Parc national d'Angthong de KOH de la MU
Il comporte environ nord-ouest de 40 îles du KOH Samui et en couvre 250 kilomètres carrés. Les îles importantes de parc dominant en grande partie, les masses verdoyantes de roche encerclées par les mers claires, incluent le KOH de Mae qui a une belle plage et un lac vert d'eau de mer appelés le NaI de Thale ; Wua Talap, emplacement de parc siège où le logement est disponible pour des visiteurs souhaitant prolonger leurs séjours ; Sam Sai avec un récif coralien passionnant et roche énorme arquent, et Phai-Luak. La réservation antérieure est nécessaire en appelant 57900529, 579-4842.

NaI de Tae de KOH
C'est une petite île pas trop loin à atteindre du KOH Phangan, est de plus en plus populaire aux touristes de ses beautés normales. La haute colline jungle-couverte, la plage d'or de sable de long bout droit, les récifs coraliens prospères entourés par des poissons de toutes les tailles et les couleurs etc. sont certaines de ses attractions importantes. Le logement sous forme de pavillons est également fourni sur l'île. Le transport est disponible par moyen de bateau de passager ou de cargo qui partent de Surat Thani par l'intermédiaire de Samui.

KOH Phanga
La grande île 60 minute directement le nord du KOH Samui, a la belle chute d'eau ; Nam Tok que Sadet, parc de forêt de Nam Tok Phaeng et un récif coralien étendu. Le logement est disponible ici aussi bien.

KOH Tao et yuan de Nang de KOH
Ces 2 petites îles rocheuses sont administrativement sous le KOH Phangan d'Amphoe et situé au nord-ouest de direction du KOH Phangan. Intact et calme récemment par des touristes, les îles gagnent ses réputations pour les ressources sous-marines, les beaux compartiments uniques et le jardin de crique et de corail sous la mer en cristal qui donnent les bonnes perspectives prometteuses pour des activités de sport de mer. Le logement sous forme de huttes et de pavillons est fourni sur ces deux îles. Pour atteindre le KOH Tao est économiquement en le bateau qui part de Surat Thani et KOH Phangan. Les bateaux sont également disponibles pour le KOH Tao du pilier de Tha Yang, Chumphon. Et pour atteindre le yuan de Nang de KOH, les bateaux sont fournis par le KOH Tao.


Festivals et événements ce qui se produit sur la scène locale

Ramboutan juste

Cette foire annuelle est tenue en août. Le premier arbre de ramboutan a été planté à Surat Thani en 1926, et cette foire célèbre le fruit délicieux, qui se développe maintenant largement dans le secteur. Les points culminants incluent des expositions des produits locaux et les plantes ornementales, les flotteurs ornés avec le ramboutan et d'autres fruits, et les démonstrations des singes qualifiés qui moissonnent des noix de coco.

Festival de Chak Phra
Ce festival est tenu en octobre chaque année. Surat Thani célèbre l'extrémité officielle des pluies bouddhistes de trois mois annuelles retraitent (Phansa) avec le festival de Chak Phra (littéralement « le cortège de transporter l'image de Bouddha "). La tradition provient de la croyance que le Bouddha est monté au ciel pendant le Phansa pour prêcher à sa mère. Le festival marque le retour du Bouddha à la terre, et est une occasion pour la mérite-fabrication religieuse et les célébrations générales. Les personnes locales organisent la terre d'éblouissement et les cortèges portés par les eaux des images vénérées de Bouddha (pour symboliser le retour du Bouddha à la terre) et les courses de bateau sur le fleuve de Tapi où de longs bateaux, chacun équipés par jusqu'à 50 oarsmen, sont bouillant emballés. La dévotion religieuse, le spectacle et la joie combinent pour faire à festival de Chak Phra de Surat Thani un événement annuel mémorable.

Saveur locale de nourriture aux travaux manuels

Ramboutan
Situé sur la côte méridionale de la Thaïlande, le sol de Surat Thani et le climat est idéal pour l'agriculture. L'agriculture et la pêche sont deux métiers importants de la province où des arbres fruitiers, plants gommifères, les noix de coco, riz aussi bien que plusieurs autres cultures de plein champ sont développés. Ces métiers attirent d'énormes quantités de revenu à Surat Thaini. Le ramboutan ou l'O.N.G. dans thaï, particulièrement la soi-disant O.N.G. Rong Rian, est de la récolte la plus importante et la plus économique de Surat Thani. Grâce à ses caractéristiques en avant ; à savoir, le de grande taille, la belle forme et couleur, et la chair de bonbons, croquante et facile-lapidée, l'O.N.G. Rong Rian peut se vendre à un prix plus élevé que d'autres genres de ramboutan. Développé dans une surface totale du rai approximativement 60.000, l'O.N.G. Rong Rian est un acquéreur important du revenu provincial en valeur pas moins que le BT 1.000 millions tous les ans. Afin de réitérer l'importance du ramboutan, l'administration provinciale de Surat Thani a, donc, organisé « la foire de ramboutan de Surat Thani » cultiver annuellement les concours qui commencent en 1979. La foire a continué à être tenue comme événement annuel de la province. Précédemment, l'événement a été jugé les concours annuels de la récolte de la province qui ont eu lieu la première fois en 1969 s'étant rendu compte que l'O.N.G. Rong Rian a attiré l'énorme revenu aussi bien qu'une réputation pour Surat Thani, le comité organisateur des concours, en 1979, ont changé l'événement en « foire de ramboutan de Surat Thani » afin de faire connaître l'O.N.G. Rong Rian plus largement au public.

L'origine de la « O.N.G. Rong Rian »
Rong Rian, un mot thaï pour l'école, est le nom du ramboutan le plus renommé de la province de Surat Thani. En arrière en 1926, M.K. Wong, un Malaysian-Chinois, déplacé de Penang en Malaisie pour actionner une mine de bidon à l'interdiction Muang Kae, Na San, Na San de Tambon d'interdiction d'Amphoe. Il a apporté avec lui quelques graines de ramboutan, qui étaient des premières développées en Na San de Tambon pas trop loin au nord de sa maison
Taux bon marché d'hôtel
Paquets de station thermale
Paquets de golf
À travers des paquets de la Thaïlande
Paquets de la Thaïlande d'expérience
Paquets de plongée
Tarifs aériens escomptés


Bulletin/publication électronique

Logement d'hôtel mondial



Hôtel Thaïlande - service de réservation d'hôtels et de ressources de la Thaïlande
Ligne directe de bureau de Bangkok ! (662) 100-8010 : 9h00 du matin. - 18h00. (Lundi-Sat)
Contrôlé par le PERMIS No.11/2976 de VOYAGE de Mono Travel Co., Ltd. TAT
Copyright HotelThailand.com. Tous droits réservés.

traqueur extrême

You are here Home » Travel Information » Popular Desinations » South » Surat Thani Tourist Information
Search Hotel :

Surat Thani Tourist Information

Surat Thani Tourist InformationSurat Thani Tourist Information



The name literally means "city of the good people" and is the former seat of the Sivichaya Empire. It is the largest and most important province of the South, located 644 kms. from Bangkok. It occupies an area of 12,891.5 square kilometers bordering on Chumphon and the Gulf of Thailand to the north, Nakhon Si Thammarat and Krabi to the south, Phangnga and Ranong to the west and the Gulf of Thailand and Nakhon Si Thammarat to the east.

Surat Thani once formed part, and may have been the centre of the Mahayana Buddhist, Srivijaya Empire which, steeped in legend and mystery, dominated the Malay peninsula and much of Java some 1,500 years ago. Srivijaya was best described by the itinerant Chinese monk I Ching after a pilgrimage he made to India during the late 600s. Archaeological discoveries at Chaiya indicate the former empire's splendour.

Geographic characteristics of Surat Thani are high plateau and mountains covered with valuable woodforest to the west and low basins in the central and eastern seashore area. There are a tremendous number of islands along the coast and two major rivers: the Tapi River and Phum Duang River. It is administratively divided into 18 Amphoes and 1 King Amphoe i.e., Amphoe Muang, Ban Na San, Ban Ta Khun, Chaiya, Don Sak, Kanchanadit, Khian Sa, Khiri Ratthanikhom, Koh Phangna, Koh Samui, Phanom, Phrasaeng, Phunphin, Tha Chana, Tha Chang, Wiang Sa, Ban Na Doem, Chai Buri and King Amphoe Wiphawadi.


Things to see & do sights & experiences

General

Phra Boromathat Chaiya
An ancient pagoda, located in Wat Phra Boromathat Chaiya, Amphoe Chaiya, housing Lord Buddha relics. The structure is believed to be constructed during the Sivichaya period over 1,200 years ago.

Chaiya National Museum
Located at Wat Phra Boromathat Chaiya, Tambon Wiang, Amphoe Chaiya. It is a historical and archaeological museum. The first building puts on exhibition stone and bronze sculptures discovered in the ancient city of Chaiya, for example, sculptures of the God Vishnu and Bohdisattva Avalokitesvara. The second building exhibits artifacts of protohistoric down to historic periods from Dvaravati, Srivijaya, Lop Buri, Sukhothai to Ayutthaya. Art objects and several other crafts are also displayed here. Chaiya National Museum is open daily between 09.00-16.00 hrs. except for Mondays and Tuesdays. Admission is 10 Baht each.

Suan Mokkha Phalaram
This is otherwise known as Wat Than Nam Lai (Monastery of Flowing Water), a monastic community located in a beautiful and peaceful natural park where Buddhists go for meditation practice. There are several teaching pavilions which many paintings and poems illustrating moral teachings known in Thai as "Entertainment Houses for the Soul".

Khao Thaphet Wildlife and Nature Education Station
Located some 6 kms. from town along the Surat - Nasan Road, highway no. 4009 and covers 1,162 acres. The station houses many caged wild animals. The hilltop, some 210 meters above sea level, offers panoramic views of Ban Don municipality, the Tapi River and Ban Don Bay. On Khao Thaphet is also located the stupa named Phra That Si Surat or locally known as Phra That Khao Thaphet which houses Buddha relics donated by the Indian government some 30 years ago.

Oyster Farms
Are found around the estuarine areas of the Kradae and Tha Thong Rivers, in Amphoe Kanchanadit. Oyster Bred there are substantially larger than those found elsewhere. To visit the farms is by hiring boats from Tha Thong quayside for some 30 minutes.

Moo Ban Phumriang
Some 6 kilometers east of Chaiya, is an arts and crafts centre well known for its gold and silver brocade silk cloth and jute headwear.

Monkey Schools
The schools where monkeys are trained to pick coconuts, there are 2 places: one is located in Amphoe Kanchanadit, some 13 kms. from Surat Thani along Highway No. 401 and another one is at Ban Khlong Sai, Amphoe Tha Chang, some 35 kms. along Highway No. 41. Visitors are advised to check with local travel agents for full details.

National Parks

Khao Sok National Park
It is located on km.109 from Surat township area on Highway No. 401. A verdant forest-covered hill national park, with an area of some 161,000 acres. Many kinds of rare wildlife are still to be found. With an atmosphere of peacefulness and restfulness, one can trek along the trails made to the adventure. Accommodations in the park can be available through the reservation section, Forestry Department, Tel. (662) 579-0529, 579-4842. Besides, near the area of the park there are private-run bungalows available for the tourist.

Tai Rom Yen National Park
Covers the area of 133,125 rai of Khlong Nam Thao Forest Reserve in Amphoe Ban Na San and Amphoe Wiang Sa. A mountain within the park known as Khao Chong Chang once used to be the base of the Communist Party of Thailand. There are several scenic tourist spots such as Nam Tok Dat Fa, Nam Tok Muang Thuat in Amphoe Ban Na San and Nam Tok Than Thip in Amphoe Wiang Sa. Visitors wishing to stay overnight here are requested to bring along their camping accessories. For more details please contact National Parks Division, Royal Forestry Department, Tel. (662) 579-4842, 579-0529.

Nam Tok Wiphawadi or Nam Tok Ban Nai
Though of the same name as the one within Khlong Yan Wildlife Sanctuary, this one is located in Amphoe Don Sak on the roadside of the Highway 401 between KM. 60-61, about 38 kilometers from town. Though a small waterfall, it is always crowded on holidays.

Ratchprapha or Chieo Lan Dam
It is located on Km. 52-53 Highway No. 401 and turn right for another 12 kms. The scenery around the dam area is very beautiful. Accommodations are available from the Electricity Generating Authority of Thailand, Tel. (662) 436-3179 or (6677) 311-364, 311-522.

Khlong Yan Wildlife Sanctuary
Situated in King Amphoe Wiphawadi, 45 kilometers along the Highway 41 with a 26-kilometers left turn to King Amphoe Wiphawadi. Further on for about 10 kilometers, then turn right for another 8 kilometers, one will get to the sanctuary. Major attraction here is the beautiful waterfall "Nam Tok Wiphawadi". Accommodation is available. Reservation should be made to Chief of Khlong Ya Wildlife Sanctuary at Moo 8, Tambon Takut Tai, King Amphoe Wiphawadi, Surat Thani 84180.

Islands

Koh Samui
It is Surat Thani's major tourist attraction. The island has numerous lovely beaches and bays. It is almost literally an island of coconuts and forested hills, and is fast be coming a resort of international stature. Samui's best beaches line the northern and eastern coasts, the most popular being Chaweng and Lamai where, generally, the most attractive accommodation is found.
Besides beaches, other island attractions include the Hin Lat and Na Muang waterfalls the phallic rock formations at the southern end of Lamai Bay; a massive seated Buddha image of Fan isle and Na Thon, the island's major seafront settlement where shops, restaurants, tour agencies and hotels are located.

Koh Tae Nai
It is a small island not too far to be reached from Koh Phangan, is increasingly popular to the tourists from its natural beauties. High jungle-covered hill, long stretch golden sand beach, thriving coral reefs surrounded by fish of all sizes and colors etc. are some of its major attractions. Accommodations in the form of bungalows are also provided on the island. Transportation is available by mean of passenger boat or cargo boat which leave from Surat Thani via Samui.

Koh Phanga
The large island 60 minutes directly north of Koh Samui, has the lovely waterfall; Nam Tok Than Sadet, Nam Tok Phaeng Forest Park and an extensive coral reef. Accommodation is available here as well.

Koh Tao and Koh Nang Yuan
These 2 small rocky islands are administratively under Amphoe Koh Phangan and located at the direction northwest of Koh Phangan. Unspoiled and undisturbed lately by tourists, the islands earn its reputations for underwater resources, unique beautiful bays and coves and coral garden under the crystal sea which give the good promising outlook for sea sport activities. Accommodations in the form of huts and bungalows are provided on these two islands. To reach Koh Tao economically is by boat that leaves from Surat Thani and Koh Phangan. Boats are also available for Koh Tao from Tha Yang Pier, Chumphon. And to reach Koh Nang Yuan, boats are available from Koh Tao.


Festivals & events what's happening on the local scene

Rambutan Fair
This annual fair is held in August. The first rambutan tree was planted in Surat Thani in 1926, and this fair celebrates the delicious fruit, which now grows widely in the area. Highlights include exhibitions of local products and ornamental plants, floats adorned with rambutan and other fruits, and demonstrations of trained monkeys who harvest coconuts.

Chak Phra Festival
This festival is held in October every year. Surat Thani celebrates the official end of the annual 3-month Buddhist Rains retreat (Phansa) with the Chak Phra Festival (literally ‘the procession of hauling the Buddha image'). The tradition stems from the belief that the Buddha ascended to Heaven during Phansa to preach to his mother. The festival marks the Buddha's return to Earth, and is an occasion for religious merit-making and general celebrations. Local people organise dazzling land and waterborne processions of revered Buddha images (to symbolise the Buddha's return to Earth) and boat races on the Tapi River where long boats, each manned by up to 50 oarsmen, are ebulliently raced. Religious devotion, spectacle and merriment combine to make Surat Thani's Chak Phra Festival a memorable annual event.


Local flavor from food to handicrafts

Rambutan
Located on the southern coast of Thailand, Surat Thani's soil and climate is ideal for agriculture. Farming and fishing are two major occupations of the province where fruit trees, rubber plants, coconuts, rice as well as several other field crops are grown. These occupations attract enormous amounts of income to Surat Thaini. Rambutan or Ngo in Thai, especially the so-called Ngo Rong Rian, is the most important and an economic crop of Surat Thani. Thanks to its prominent characteristics; namely, the large size, the beautiful shape and color, and the sweets, crunchy and easily-stoned flesh, the Ngo Rong Rian can sell at a higher price than other kinds of rambutan. Grown within a total area of approximately 60,000 rai, Ngo Rong Rian is a major earner of the provincial income worth not less than Bt 1,000 million each year. In order to reiterate the importance of the rambutan, the Surat Thani Provincial Administration has, therefore, organised the "Surat Thani Rambutan Fair" annually crop contests which begin in 1979. The fair has continued to be held as an annual event of the province. Previously, the event has been held the province's annual crop contests which first took place in 1969 having realised that Ngo Rong Rian has attracted enormous income as well as a reputation for Surat Thani, the organising committee of the contests, in 1979, changed the event into the "Surat Thani Rambutan Fair" in order to make Ngo Rong Rian more widely known to the public.

The origin of "Ngo Rong Rian"
Rong Rian, a Thai word for school , is the name of the most renowned rambutan of Surat Thani Province. Back in 1926, Mr. K. Wong, a Malaysian-Chinese, moved from Penang in Malaysia to operate a tin mine at Ban Muang Kae, Tambon Na San, Amphoe Ban Na San. He brought with him some rambutan seeds, which were first grown in Tambon Na San not too far to the north of his house


Worldwide Hotel Accommodation

Go to Top
Same-day Reservation - Latest service from HotelThailand.com
Live Chat
Book Hotel in Thailand with No Hidden Cost at HotelThailand.com
Thailand Online Travel e-zine
Top Thailand City
Office Hours : Mon-Fri 09:00 AM - 06:00 PM, Sat & Thailand's Official Holidays 09:00 AM - 01:00 PM (Thailand Time, GMT+7). If you have any suggestions or comments, Please click here to contact us. Customer Support : +66(8) 5070 2550, +66(8) 5070 2551