You are here Home » Travel Information » Thailand Tourist Destination
Search Hotel :

Thailand Tourist Destination

Thailand can be divided into 5 main Tourist destination regions namely :

Central Region

Central Region consists of 22 provinces (Changwats): Ang Thong, Bangkok, Chachoengsao, Chai Nat, Kanchanaburi, Lop Buri, Nakhon Nayok, Nakhon Pathom, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Phetchaburi, Phra Nakhon Sri Ayutthya, Prachin Buri, Prachuab Khiri Khan, Ratchaburi, Sa Kaeo, Samut Prakan, Samut Sakorn, Samut Songkram, Saraburi, Sing Buri, and Suphan Buri, which are located in a fertile basin having most rice farming and regard as a rice bowl of the country

Central Region is a island of civilization originating from the pre-historic era and had been developing continuously till Ayutthaya and Ratanakosin periods. Besides being the country's most fertile land on rice growing, the central region is also famous for its tourist attraction places which are lied prominently on natural resources and the historic ancient remains. The prior mentioned is thick forests, high falls, caves and sea beaches, while the later is ancient ruin temples or palaces, historical places etc.

Map of Central Region | Central Thailand Suggested Travel Intinerary

Northern Region

Thailand Northern Region comprises 17 Changwats (provinces); they are: Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Kamphaeng Phet, Lampang, Lamphun, Mae Hong Son, Nakhon Sawan, Nan, Phayao, Phetchabun, Phichit, Phitsanulok, Phrae, Sukhothai, Tak, Uthai Thani and Uttaradit. It occupies an approximate area of 170,000 square kilometers or the equivalent of 106 millions rai, bordering on the territories of Laos and Myanmar. The north is the home of Thailand's earliest civilization and is famous for its beautiful women, and hospitable and courteous people, as well as many sites of archaeological and cultural interest such as the Ancient City of Sukhothai which used to be the first capital of Thailand some 700 years ago; Buddha's Relics at Wat Doi Suthep of Chiang Mai, a highly revered place for northerners; Phra Buddha Chinarat, which is said to be the most beautiful Buddha image of Thailand, at Wat Phra Si Ratana-Mahathat in Phitsanulok. The largest dam of Thailand, and the world's seventh largest is also here Bhumibol Dam in Tak. In addition, the northern region is the home of Thailand's many colorful hill tribal people such as the Lahu of Tak and the Yao, Akha, Karen, Hmong, and Lisu tribes of the Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai mountain regions. The North is also noted for its rich cultural traditions, and many tourists from the surrounding provinces flock to Chiang Mai for the annual Songkran Festival, and to Sukothai for Loi Krathong. The North is accessible by the good network of highways in the region itself and inter-region highways. Trains run from Bangkok to Chiang Mai and there are flights operated by the Thai Airways International Ltd. (Domestic) from Bangkok to Phitsanulok, Phrae, Nan, Lampang, Chiang Mai, Chiang Rai, Tak, Mae Sot and Mae Hong Son.

Map of Northern Region | Northern Thailand Suggested Travel Intinerary

The Northeast

The Northeast of Thailand, commonly referred to as I-San (pronounced E-Sarn), is made up of nineteen provinces: Amnat Charoen, Buri Ram, Chaiyaphum, Kalasin, Khon Kaen, Loei, Maha Sarakham, Mukdahan, Nakhon Ratchasima (Khorat), Nakhon Phanom, Nong Bua Lam Phu, Nong Khai, Roi Et, Sakon Nathon, Si Sa Ket, Surin, Ubon Ratchani, Udon Thani and Yasothorn.

The word I-San denotes prosperity and vastness, which is appropriate considering that the Northeast covers a total area of more than 170,000 sq.kms., or roughly one-third of the entire country. It borders on Laos and Cambodia to the east.

Map of North-Eastern Region | North Eastern Thailand Suggested Travel Intinerary


Thailand's Eastern Sea Coast from Chonburi (Pattaya) on the way to Trat is among the most attractive and complete seaside destinations Nature has endowed the area with waterfall and mountains, beaches and islands, and man has added some facilities and conveniences to make it a truly beautiful and enjoyable destination area The Eastern coastal region is also rich in archaeological and historical terms

Map of Eastern Region | Eastern Thailand Suggested Travel Intinerary


Southern Thailand consists of 14 provinces (Changwats): Chumphol, Ranong, Surat Thani, Phangnga, Phuket, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Phattalung, Songkhla, Satun, Pattani, Yala and Narathiwat, The region is located on the peninsula between the Andaman Sea of the Indian Ocean to the east and the South China Sea of the Pacific Ocean to the East. Southern region has a richly varied topography, including basin areas for cultivation of paddy and vegetables, wild jungles, mountains, beaches, seaside resorts, waterfalls, caves, parks, lake and many islands of all sizes, offering spectacular scenery throughout.

Map of  Southern Region Southern Thailand Suggested Travel Intinerary

Worldwide Hotel Accommodation

Go to Top
Same-day Reservation - Latest service from
Live Chat
Top Thailand City
Office Hours : Mon-Fri 09:00 AM - 06:00 PM, Sat & Thailand's Official Holidays 09:00 AM - 01:00 PM (Thailand Time, GMT+7). If you have any suggestions or comments, Please click here to contact us. Customer Support : +66 (0) 2101 4777